Please note that CLG is a worker-led center. All of the rules and wages governing the hiring process have been developed by workers through twice weekly general assemblies.
The wages below are minimum wages. Higher wages may be negotiated depending on the specifics of the job.
|Min wage/hr||Type of Job||Description|
|General Labor||$15||Agriculture Yardwork General Labor||Vineyard, olive, apple orchard etc. Yard cleaning, mowing, weeding, and planting i.e. Power washing, garage clean up, general assistance, etc.|
|More Skilled Labor||$18-$20||Assistant in painting||$18 – Assisting employer with brush and roller (preparation, cutting, taping, and clean-up)$20 – Spray gun (preparation, taping, & clean up)|
|$18||Assistant in Skilled Gardening / Landscaping||Assisting employer with pruning and irrigation installation; Landscape Installation|
|$20||House Cleaning||General, light housecleaning (sweeping, mopping, bathrooms, kitchens etc).$10 fee to bring cleaning supplies|
|$25||Deep Cleaning||Deep Cleaning, Moving out or moving in.$15 fee to bring deep cleaning supplies|
|$25||Assistant in carpentry||Assisting employer with framing, siding, and cabinetry|
|$20||Assistant in masonry||Assisting employer with brick, stone, cement, and tile|
|$25||Assistant in roofing||Assisting employer with installation and removal|
|Heavy Labor||$18||Digging||Excavation, ditch-digging, holes, and drains|
|$20-25||Moving||Furniture, appliances, and boxes.|
|$20||Demolition||Chimneys require hard hats|
|$25||Poison Oak||Removal of poison oak/ivy|
|Truck||$50 per trip||Use of Truck||Removal of debris, yard waste. Also includes moving.|
***Workers are not licensed contractors.
Contractors State License Requirement
In California all businesses or individuals who construct, or alter, or offer to construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, excavation or other structure in California must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) if the total cost (labor and materials) of one or more contracts on the projects is $500 or more. Licenses maybe issued individuals, partnerships, corporations, joint venture or limited liability companies (LLC).
Owner-Builder Exemption and Responsibilities
Owner-builders who build or improve structures on their own property are not required to be licensed if they either do the work themselves or use their own employees (paid in wages). However, Owner-Builders hiring workers are subject to employment laws that include securing workers compensation insurance. Additional information regarding workers compensation insurance requirements can be accessed at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm
Penalty for Unlicensed Practice
Contracting without a license is usually a misdemeanor. Unlicensed contractors face a first offense sentence of six months in jail and/or a $5,000 fine, and potential administrative fines of $200 to $15,000.
For more information, feel free to contact us directly at (707) 829-1864 or firstname.lastname@example.org